Reading Roundup: January and Febuary

Last year when I was finally done with my high school exams, I had a lot of time on my hands. After binge-watching a lot of Netflix shows I realized that I hadn’t read as many books as I used to. I stumbled across this website called GoodReads and pledged to read 10 books by the end of the year.

By the time December rolled around, I managed to read 12 books! Which is more than I had read in the past 3 years. My favorite genre is Young Adult and especially the romantic books. I don’t know why I love these books the most because I absolutely hate romantic movies – but that’s just me I guess. This year I pledged to read 10 books again and I am well on my way already.

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
quiet-kind-of-thunder“Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.”

This was definitely my favorite on this list. After reading ‘Beautiful Broken Things’, Sara became one of my favorite authors and I just knew that I had to read this one too. The story was so captivating and I immediately fell in love with the characters. I especially love how the mental illnesses weren’t romanticized in this book, which sadly happens a lot these days in our society. I definitely think this is worth a read and I look forward to read more of Sara’s works.

Dreamology by Lucy Keating
23466626“For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.
But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?”

Dreamology was the first contemporary I have ever read and I really liked it. The way they are able to talk to eachother in their dreams reminded me a bit of The Maze Runner. It was an easy read and I finished it in less than two 5 hour sittings. Side note, how beautiful is this cover? It is simple but still effective. All in all, this is a new favorite and I would recommend for you to read it.

Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett
28503699Addison Sullivan has been in an accident. In its aftermath, she has memory lapses and starts talking to a boy that no one else can see. It gets so bad that she’s worried she’s going crazy.

Addie takes drastic measures to fill in the blanks and visits a shadowy medical facility that promises to “help with your memory.” But at the clinic, Addie unwittingly discovers it is not her first visit. And when she presses, she finds out that she had certain memories erased. She had a boy erased.

But why? Who was that boy, and what happened that was too devastating to live with? And even if she gets the answers she’s looking for, will she ever be able to feel like a whole person again?”

Not gonna lie, this cover is what drew me to this book immediatly. After reading Dreamology I wanted to read some more contemporary books and I stumbled upon this one. Even though this wasn’t my favorite, I still think this was a good book. I really got annoyed with Addison because she kept taking the easy way out of things.

Chasing Spring by R.S. Grey
chasing-spring“I thought I’d left Blackwater, Texas behind for good. I didn’t belong in the small town, but my dad wouldn’t listen. He dragged me back home in his beat-up truck and dropped a bomb along the way: Chase Matthews was moving in with us. He was the golden boy of my high school, my former best friend, and the last person I wanted sleeping across the hall. His presence was too great a reminder of the ghosts I was trying to forget.

I didn’t ask for a hero. I don’t want to be saved.

To me, Lilah Calloway meant late nights sneakin’; out, moonlit hair, and sparklers in July. She was my best friend until the day she left and I’d assumed Blackwater had seen the last of her. Then, like a tempest, she rolled back into town for the final half of senior year. The chopped hair and dark devil-may-care attitude warned most people away, but I knew if I fought hard enough, I could find the lost girl.”

I didn’t want to be her hero. Some girls don’t need to be saved.”

I liked this book more than I did the one mention before this. Chase was the character that really did it for me. I love how sweet and good of a friend he was. He was everything you would want in a best friend. The way he didn’t let Lilah give up on herself or on their friendship was amazing. I wouldn’t have recommended it if it wasn’t for him.

Hopefully you can add some of these to your own reading list for the year and look out for the next roundup.

Love, A.

Leave a Reply

