Favorite Albums of 2016

There is absolutely no doubt that I love music. From the moment I wake up until I go to sleep I am either singing and humming a song or I am listening to music. This year, I think I’ve discovered a lot of new artists this year and I have loved every single minute of it.

Let’s rewind to the day in April after I had my performance exam for musichttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_a_Bachelor class.  A friend and I were in an empty classroom tidying up the last instruments and she put on the song Death Of A Bachelor by Panic! at the Disco. Of course I had heard of P!atd before, but I had never actually listened to their songs before. So that night, I went on Spotify, listened to all their albums and was immediately sold. I couldn’t get the songs out of my head for the next 4 weeks!

A few other new albums that I have played on repeat and I think are worth mentioning are:

‘Sit Still, Look Pretty’ by Daya
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sit_Still,_Look_Pretty_(album)

Ever since her collaboration with The Chainsmokers for ‘Don’t Let Me Down‘ I hoped that she would bring out her own album and boy did this girl come through!! You might expect it to be “bubble gum pop” but I was so surprised. My favorites are Words, Talk, Got The Feeling and Dare.


‘Hell’s Kitchen Angel’ by MAXhttp://www.josepvinaixa.com/blog/max-hells-kitchen-angel/
So I didn’t even know that he brought out a new album
and it was so good! I hadn’t heard
anything of him since I saw him star in ‘Rags’ on Disney Channel about  4 years ago. I know, crazy! My favorites are definitely Lights Down Low, Home and Basement Party.

http://whatsgood.co.nz/1975s-i-like-it-when-you-sleep-for-you-are-so-beautiful-yet-so-unaware-of-it-album-review/

‘I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’ by The 1975
And the award for longest album title goes to…. No really, they actually hold the record for most characters in an album title. But this band is just everything. Always with the coolest but minimal artwork. I just love the vibes they have going on. Out of all the beautiful songs they have on this album, I think UGH!, She Lays Down and The Sound are my faves.

‘Illuminate’ by Shawn Mendes
http://www.shawnmendesofficial.com/
This boy has done it again! Another beautiful album. I have never listened to an album where I loved every song so much as I did with this one. His voice is just so beautiful and soothing. I swear that every time I listen to one of these songs, I somehow end up listening to the whole album all over again. You can really hear how much he’s grown in comparison to his first album, Handwritten. If I had to pick favorites, I think that my favorite songs from this one are Roses, Honest and Lights On.

And finally, my latest discovery; ‘Back From The Edge’ by James Arthur. Always been a http://www.josepvinaixa.com/blog/james-arthur-second-studio-album/fan if this man’s voice and this album has made me realize it even more. When I first heard, Say You Won’t Let Go I knew that I would love the rest of the album as well. I the first time I listened to Can I Be Him, I almost cried, because you can hear all the emotions is his voice. My heart just shattered while listening. And my final favorites are Coming Home For Summer, Can I Be Him and Sermon.

I created a Spotify playlist for if you want to listen to more of my favorite songs of 2016. I hope you go check them out because I honestly think they all are a real masterpiece of its own.

Hopefully you’ve enjoyed this blog post and I’ll talk to you in my next one!

Love, A.

What are some your favorite songs of 2016?

Leave a Reply

