In The City: Zaandam

So today my dad and I decided to go to Zaandam, a city close to Amsterdam. Even though my dad used to live there, we have not visited in about 4 years. I think it is always nice to see if and how places have changed when you haven’t been to them in a while.

The city center wasn’t always this pretty. It was just your average city center, a bit dull, nothing out of the ordinary. But it has gotten a makeover and it looks gorgeous. There is now a small canal running through the streets. The colors seem much more vibrant and everything feels more alive. I don’t know how or why, but everytime I go to visit Zaandam, I leave with a great feeling.

IMG_3191IMG_3192

After strolling around for a few hours, we ended up in my favorite restaurant: ‘t Groene Pandje. It is a cute little restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. The interior is rustic but also modern. (I forgot to take pictures of this, but y’know live in the moment right?) But the most important thing, the food is amazing! Everything is really fresh and tastes delicious. This time I ordered a large pancake with bacon in it. Even though it might look a bit burned, I asked them to let it in the pan a little longer and I loved every single bite. My dad got something called ‘Halfom’ which is a sandwich with two different kinds of meat. (I also tried to take a picture of his food but he wouldn’t let me because he was so hungry.)

IMG_3183

Even though the weather was not that great, I still think it was a good day because I had a lot of fun and ate some good food.

This brings us to the end of this post. I hope you enjoyed it and look forward to more trips to different cities. You can check out my last post right here and I’ll see you in my next post!

Until then, stay beautiful!
x A.

One thought on “In The City: Zaandam

Leave a Reply

